Link to Riverpath B&B Home Page
Link to Riverpath B&B Home Page

| Home | Our Rooms | Location | Things To Do | Contact Us |

Planning your Stay in Calgary & Area

If time allows for only one evening's stay with us, we are pleased that you can stop by. However, we recommend a minimum of two nights at the Riverpath because of the fine quality of the setting, the many wonderful activities available, the excellent restaurants, bars and coffee houses and the convenient centrality to the Downtown Core.

View of Stampede Fireworks from Our Deck

Things To Do

Calgary Skyline at Night

General Links for Visitors to the City:

www.calgaryairport.com 

www.calgaryplus.ca

www.wherecalgary.com

www.discovercalgary.com

www.calgaryadvantages.com

French Site ­ www.lacea.ab.ca Alberta Guide Touristique Officiel

Top


Attractions

You’ll notice that most attractions are within walking distance. You can get along without a vehicle quite easily. So if you plan on renting a vehicle at some point in your journey, wait until you spend a couple days in Calgary on foot. Walking is by far the best way to see the city.

View from Fort Calgary to the Calgary Tower

Top

Fort Calgary www.fortcalgary.com (5-minute walk) The Fort is where Calgary began! It has been reconstructed using materials and techniques that were current back in the late 1800s.

Downtown www.downtowncalgary.com

Calgary Tower www.calgarytower.com Stephen (8th) Avenue Mall

Telus Convention Centre www.calgary-convention.com

Glenbow Museum www.glenbow.org and the City’s Arts District (Olympic Plaza) www.reallivearts.com

Chinatown 15 to 20-minute walk through Fort Calgary

Calgary Stampede www.calgarystampede.com and the Pengrowth Saddledome www.pengrowthsaddledome.com (hockey, concerts, exhibitions) (5-minute walk)

Stampede Park - Thoroughbred and Harness Racing www.stampede-park.com (15-minute walk)

Calgary Zoo www.calgaryzoo.org (20-minute walk)

Eau Claire Market (35­minute walk following the Bow River pathway)

Heritage Park www.heritagepark.ca (20-minute drive/45 minutes train and bus)

Canada Olympic Park www.coda.ab.ca (20-minute drive/45 minutes train and bus)


Inglewood Community (10-minute walk)

Street Scene in Inglewood

Inglewood boosts some of the City’s most
interesting shops, restaurants, cafes and bars.

 

Local Inglewood Colour

Top


Other City Districts of Interest

Victoria Crossing www.vcrossing.com

Uptown 17 www.uptown17.ca

Fourth Street www.4streetcalgary.com

Kensington www.visitkensington.com

Top


Banff & Area

  • Kananaskis Village for a stay in a pretty mountain resort. Take your bicycles to pedal the extensive bicycle paths to some magical place for a picnic lunch.
  • Nakoda Lodge on scenic Highway 1A for a taste of Native culture and cuisine in a lovely lodge overlooking a lake (excellent Sunday brunches) Take a canoe ride after.
  • Cave and Basin Museum — site of original hot springs for a fun cave experience. Take the small hike up the hill outside the cave to see the tropical fish living in the thermal stream pools.
  • Beautiful Cascade Gardens behind old Banff Administration Building (free).
  • Bow Falls for a healthy “misting” from cascading waters.
  • Banff Springs Hotel for an ice cream cone and a stroll through castle-like chambers.
  • Upper Hot Springs for a soothing soak/swim in one of the last natural sulfur hot springs (they rent bathing suits).
  • Gondola for a ride up to the top of Sulfur Mountain for a panoramic view of the valley.
  • Shopping along Banff Avenue - sample candy from the many candy shops or visit Whyte Art Gallery to see work from local artists.
  • Tunnel Mountain for a scenic drive which also takes you by the Banff School of Fine Arts. The drive up to Norquay ski hill offers a wonderful vista of Banff town site.
  • Buffalo Paddock to see live bison safari-style from your car.
  • Johnson Canyon for a pleasant hike to some pretty falls — on your way to Lake Louise.
  • Lake Louise or deep turquoise-coloured Moraine Lake where the trailhead to the famous “Sentinal Pass Day Hike” begins (especially beautiful in the fall when the larch trees turn yellow) (approx. 2 hr. hike up).
  • Radium Hot Springs for a swim in a lovely pool built into a picturesque gorge.
  • The village of Canmore to meet the warm people. Many artists reside here. There is a pretty drive up past the Nordic Centre and on to the Spray Lakes. Take a quick hike up to the magical Grassi Lake (1 hour hike) to see historical Indian pictographs and an ancient marine wall. During the summer one can ride their mountain bicycle from the Goat Creek trailhead all the way down into Banff.

Top

 

| Home | Our Rooms | Location | Things To Do | Contact Us |
© 2004-2017 City Centre Riverpath Bed & Breakfast